Tuesday, January 14, 2014

United Nations Committee Will Question Vatican on Child Sexual Violence/ Links to Live Stream/Twitter hastag #HolySeeConfess

 On Jan. 16, 2013 Thursday, the Vatican will be questioned 
by the United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child 
about its record on child sexual violence.  
This is the first time the Vatican has been called by 
an international body to account for its handling of the crisis 
of sexual violence throughout the 
Catholic Church. CCR will be there with our clients, the 
 Survivors Network of those Abused by Priests (SNAP). 
Directly after the hearing, SNAP leaders and CCR experts 
will host alivestream report-back to update survivors, 
advocates, 
and supporters.
Tune in on Thursday, January 16, at 8pm CET (2pm EST).

You can follow the global conversation about this historic hearing 
via the Twitter hashtag #HolySeeConfess.  
You can also ask questions before or during the report-back by 
tweeting to the hashtag or
 emailing your questions to askCCR@ccrjustice.org
 We will answer as many as possible during the livestream.
Throughout the world, children and vulnerable adults have been and 
continue to be subjected to widespread and systemic rape and 
sexual violence by priests and others associated with the 
Roman Catholic Church. 
The Vatican’s policies and practices enable this violence. 
 In February 2013, SNAP and CCR submitted reports to the 
Committee on the Rights of the Child, detailing how the 
Holy See has violated the core principles of the 
Convention on the Rights of the Child.
You can also watch the hearing live in its entirety
 From 10am-12pm CET (4am-6am EST), the Vatican 
will be reviewed 
on its compliance with the Convention on Rights of the
 Child. 
From 3pm-6pm CET (9am-12pm EST), the Vatican 
will be reviewed 
on its compliance with the Optional Protocol on the
Sale of Children, 
Child Prostitution, and Child Pornography.  
Both broadcasts will be in English. 
 For more information on our efforts to hold the 
Vatican accountable see our webpage and factsheet.

No comments: